2014’s theme: purpose

I’ve spent the last few days reflecting on 2013 and thinking about what I want 2014 to look like for me. In previous posts, I’ve written that I don’t really make new year’s resolutions; I make birthday resolutions. I felt like I couldn’t wait until February to start implementing my plans and so here I am, my first new year’s resolutions ever!

Choy's Family

Personally and professionally, 2013 was a great year for me: new puppy, engagement, marriage, promotion, a raise, and starting grad school.

In terms of travel, I’ve been to a few fun and memorable places: Charleston, SC, Miami, Los Angeles, Chicago, Memphis, Atlanta, Petoskey, MI, Van Lear, KY, Kauai and Oahu, Hawaii, Williamsburg, VA, Austin, Toronto and Vancouver.

Where my 2013 was lacking was in reading, fitness, diet, and spending.

Reading: I’ve read only a few books in 2013 and I’d like to read more. That’s pretty simple.

Fitness: Though I ran a half-marathon in Hawaii, I can’t remember running a single mile after that September 1 race. Before my promotion, I used to tell myself that I traveled too much to commit to a regular workout schedule, but my promotion keeps me in town more and now I have no excuses.

Diet: Prior to the wedding, I had been a vegetarian for five years and when I arrived to Hawaii, I didn’t even try to resist the Portuguese sausage, Loco Moco, and Kalua pork. I liked being a vegetarian and I legitimately feel bad about eating meat. It’s not good for the environment, it perpetuates the horrors of the industry, and it’s not healthy.

Spending: Choy and I spent way too much on the puppies and restaurants. Only a few months in the last year did we stay on or under budget in these categories. We’re going to do better this year.

live-your-life-on-purpose-BLOG1

With all of these things swirling around in my head I started to feel like I was going to overwhelm myself with all that I wanted to do better in 2014. I decided I needed a theme. I thought about the words: balance, intention, and purpose.

Balance is representative of doing things in realistic doses. I’m notorious for going too hard, too fast, too soon.

Intention is representative of goals. Better health, more responsible living, but it seems a little after-the-fact and so I chose purpose.

Purpose is my theme for 2014. Before doing anything, I can ask myself what’s the purpose? And it works both ways. Eating meat, waking up early to run, buying another sweater for my dog that hates sweaters – what purpose does it serve in helping me reach my goals? 

My 2014 goals are not just about this year, but about the many years to come. As Choy and I prepare for our move to Los Angeles and a family, developing, honing and reinforcing healthy and responsible habits now will put us in the best position for the future.

Happy new year! I hope your 2014 is full of purpose!

2 thoughts on “2014’s theme: purpose

  1. Pingback: new year’s resolutions – two weeks in | it's electric

  2. Pingback: budgeting for the rest of us | it's electric

Thoughts?

