the campaign trail

voteWhen I travel for my job, I feel like I’m running for President. I am always “on” engaging people in conversation, asking questions, giving answers, kissing babies, shaking hands, giving hugs, waving, smiling, smiling, smiling.

Sometimes my work takes me to some really small towns. Ever heard of Prestonsburg, Kentucky? Chickasaw, Alabama? Jasper, Florida? I didn’t think so. It is in these small towns that I really feel like I’m running for President. I get to meet some local people and hear about factories that have closed, mines that have closed, price of gas, fixed incomes and disease.

I’m asking them to give me money to do something that won’t immediately and directly affect them. I’m asking them do something because it’s the right thing to do. I get to learn a lot about our country.

Choy came with me on one of my trips recently and while he was leaving McDonalds someone who was driving by turned around and drives past Choy yelling, “Hola Senor!” and gives him the finger.

I know what states I would lose if I ran for President.

When Choy told me this story, I wasn’t surprised but the more I thought about it the more I grew scared of Choy and I being in this small town. The driver turned his car around and came after Choy. It’s aggressive.

Thank God nothing else happened while we were there. By the way, Choy isn’t Hispanic. He’s Asian.

Thoughts?

