you are a feminist

I come from a pretty conservative background. When I left home for college, I was pretty green to the world. When I left Texas at 22, I was still green, just less so… maybe chartreuse.

To go from south Texas to Boston, is quite a transition and it’s in Boston that I learned about feminism. Feminism isn’t all bra-burning and no shaving, in a lot of ways, feminism is what you make of it.

My friend Vanessa asked me one day, are you feminist?

I didn’t answer right away. I felt that Vanessa knew something about feminism that I didn’t.

When I didn’t answer right away, she grabbed me by the shoulders and said, “of course you are! Any woman who does better for the entire gender is a feminist!” And that kinda stuck with me.

If you’re a woman who works hard for her living, you’re a feminist. You’re a feminist because you’re showing the world what talent and commitment look like, not laziness.

If you’re a woman who supports her friends by being an advocate and friend, you’re a feminist. You’re a feminist because you’re defending the ones you love and countering catiness and jealousy.

You see where I’m going with this? A positive action for the betterment of the entire gender is feminism. Just by being an example of positive womanhood you are a feminist.

You are feminsts.

Thoughts?

